Uber will now allow users to enter a friend or family members name into the app to set destination. Genius! Right? Just like most Uber updates, this is going to take some time to sink in. I can already here the dummies complaining. In my opinion, it’s a great idea, and I can’t wait to start using it.
It’s rather simple to set up. Starting today, Uber users can choose to sync their contacts with the Uber app.
After that step, instead of typing in an address in the “Where to?” box, you can type in a name.
The contact will receive a request to provide their current location. If the person doesn’t have Uber, they can still approve to have their location shared with the app.
The person can’t move, however. Uber will lock the destination on the static location. It’s a one-time location permission and will expire after 30 minutes.
The app will also send the rider’s estimated time of arrival (ETA) once the destination is set. If they have Uber, they’ll get updates similar to what happens if you directly choose to share your ETA in the app.
The feature was teased as part of the redesign back in November. Company CEO Travis Kalanick said at a press event that the update is part of the company’s mission to help you “feel like you’re living in the future.” Well Uber you sure are doing that. I love your service, as a driver and a passenger. Keep up the good work!